WRUR 88.5 Different Radio

The Little Theatre

by Suzanne Foschino

  Whether she's belting out a raucous blues-rocker, firing up a blistering soul-shouter, bringing the spirit to a gospel-fueled R&B rave-up or digging deep down into a subtle, country-tinged ballad, Shemekia Copeland sounds like no one else. With a voice that is alternately sultry, assertive and roaring, Shemekia's wide-open vision of contemporary blues, roots and soul music showcases the evolution of a passionate artist with a modern musical and lyrical approach.

Two Trains Runnin'

Jan 31, 2018

Two Trains Runnin', a documentary about the search for two forgotten blues singers, set in Mississippi during the height of the civil rights movement, will be shown at The Little Theatre, February 13th at 7pm and February 17th at 3pm as part of the "One Take" Documentary series. Director Sam Pollard will Skype with the audience after the screening on February 13th. 

October at The Little Cafe: (follow link for more information)

Wednesday October 4 (7-9pm)  Margaret Explosion

Thursday October 5 (7-9pm) Big Blue House

Friday October 6 (8-10pm) Auld Lang Syne

Saturday October 7  (8-10pm) Connie Deming

Monday October 9 (7-9pm) Watkins and the Rapiers

Tuesday October 10 (7-9pm) Lakeshore @ The Little: Jerry Falzone, Cammy Enaharo, Maria Sebastian,                                                                    Chris Wilson

September at The Little Cafe: (follow link for more information)

Thursday August 31 (7-9pm) Crossmolina

Friday September 1 (8-10pm) Seth Faergolzia (Seth Sings Soft Songs Pt. 2)

Saturday September 2  (8-10pm) Laura Dubin Duo

Sunday September 3 (7-9pm) Classical Guitar Night

Monday September 4 (7-9pm)  Bossa Nova Bradley Brothers

Tuesday September 5 (7-9pm) "Honky Tonk" Henry Kearse

Wednesday September 6 (7-9pm)  The Rita Collective

The Little Theatre is ready to party like it’s 1929!

The newly renovated Little Theatre marquee will reclaim its place as one of Rochester’s visual landmarks on Monday, June 12, with a Marquee Relighting Block Party. The street celebration begins outside The Little (240 East Ave.) at 6:30 p.m. and the relighting presentation begins at 8:30 p.m.

After a brief set of presentations at 8:30 p.m., the new marquee will be switched on for the first time at dusk.