Music http://wrur.org en Jukebox The Host Live from World Cafe Live 08/29 @Noon http://wrur.org/post/jukebox-host-live-world-cafe-live-0829-noon <p>Join us for the weekly Live from World Cafe Live concert, as Jukebox The Ghost performs a live midday concert on Friday. The infectious pop-rock trio Jukebox The Ghost returns to our radio concert &nbsp;stage this</p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 15:28:29 +0000 Michael Black 7462 at http://wrur.org Jukebox The Host Live from World Cafe Live 08/29 @Noon First Listen Live: Alt-J, 'This Is All Yours' http://wrur.org/post/first-listen-live-alt-j-all-yours A unique band with a sound that's hard to pin down, alt-J makes music that's electronic but somewhat folky; it's got elements of dub but isn't exactly danceable. At a time when it's difficult for musicians to set themselves apart, alt-J has created a truly fresh, unpredictable sound.<p><em>An Awesome Wave</em>, the band's 2012 debut, won a well-deserved Mercury Prize and spawned appearances at Lollapalooza, Bonnaroo, Coachella and the Glastonbury Festival in 2013. So how does the British band face a potential sophomore slump? Wed, 27 Aug 2014 14:03:00 +0000 Russ Borris 7460 at http://wrur.org First Listen Live: Alt-J, 'This Is All Yours' Interpol First Listen http://wrur.org/post/interpol-first-listen <p>You can listen and watch Interpol , as the New York band will play songs from its upcoming album, <em>El Pintor</em>, in public for the first time.</p><p><a href="http://wrur.org/live-event/interpol-first-listen-live">Watch/Listen to Interpol Live!</a></p><p></p> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 21:34:49 +0000 Michael Black 7458 at http://wrur.org Interpol First Listen Selwyn Birchwood Live from World Cafe Live 08/22 @Noon http://wrur.org/post/selwyn-birchwood-live-world-cafe-live-0822-noon <p>Join us this Friday at Noon as Selwyn Birchwood performs a live midday concert on Different Radio.</p> Tue, 19 Aug 2014 15:49:15 +0000 Michael Black 7448 at http://wrur.org Selwyn Birchwood Live from World Cafe Live 08/22 @Noon SOJA Live from World Cafe Live 08/15 @Noon http://wrur.org/post/soja-live-world-cafe-live-0815-noon <p>Join us Friday at Noon for Live from World Cafe Live as Soja performs a live midday concert. Seasoned&nbsp;</p> Tue, 12 Aug 2014 20:53:24 +0000 Michael Black 7440 at http://wrur.org SOJA Live from World Cafe Live 08/15 @Noon JD McPherson Live from World Cafe Live 08/08 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/jd-mcpherson-live-world-cafe-live-0808-noon <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 17.920000076293945px;">Rockabilly specialist J.D. McPherson will grace the stage for this week's edition of Live from World Cafe Live, making&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 06 Aug 2014 20:28:57 +0000 Michael Black 7431 at http://wrur.org JD McPherson Live from World Cafe Live 08/08 @ Noon Mavis Staples, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2014 http://wrur.org/post/mavis-staples-live-concert-newport-folk-2014 Newport Folk Festival programmers like to close their lineups on a note of uplift; to send fans to the exits feeling elated and moved. On that front, they couldn't have done much better than the great <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15395355/mavis-staples" target="_blank">Mavis Staples</a>, whose titanic career has spanned more than 60 years. Sun, 03 Aug 2014 15:25:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 7424 at http://wrur.org Mavis Staples, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2014 Trigger Happy Live from World Cafe Live August 1st @Noon http://wrur.org/post/trigger-happy-live-world-cafe-live-august-1st-noon <p>Trigger Hippy is a roots rock powerhouse formed in 2009, whose prominent members include guitarist&nbsp;</p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:29:07 +0000 Michael Black 7422 at http://wrur.org Trigger Happy Live from World Cafe Live August 1st @Noon Jeff Tweedy, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2014 http://wrur.org/post/jeff-tweedy-live-concert-newport-folk-2014 There aren't a whole lot of failures on the resume of Jeff Tweedy, who co-piloted the groundbreaking alt-country band Uncle Tupelo in the '80s and early '90s, then multiplied its popularity as the leader of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15164119/wilco" target="_blank">Wilco</a>. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 14:19:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 7413 at http://wrur.org Jeff Tweedy, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2014 Conor Oberst, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2014 http://wrur.org/post/conor-oberst-live-concert-newport-folk-2014 Far removed from his days as a white-knuckled teenage prodigy in <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15189641/bright-eyes">Bright Eyes</a>, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15998977/conor-oberst">Conor Oberst</a> has settled into his 30s as a wise and wizened elder statesman. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 14:17:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 7414 at http://wrur.org Conor Oberst, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2014