Music http://wrur.org en Ani DiFranco Live from World Cafe Live 4/25 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/ani-difranco-live-world-cafe-live-425-noon <p>Join us for our next Live from World Cafe Live, this time from the Queen in Wilmington, Delaware, &nbsp;as Ani</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 18:13:12 +0000 Michael Black 6088 at http://wrur.org Ani DiFranco Live from World Cafe Live 4/25 @ Noon Black Lips Live from World Cafe Live 4/18 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/black-lips-live-world-cafe-live-418-noon <p>Atlanta-based rock band Black Lips released their latest album, Underneath the Rainbow, this March with a</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;twist on their garage rock sound. With it being their ninth full-length, the band decided to focus its sound following 2011’s Arabia Mountain by working with a producer for the first time during their career. Even though the band is mixing things up a bit, they’re keeping to their raw, gritty roots. The Black Lips are also known for their signature intense live shows, so catch them this Friday at noon on Different Radio.</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 13:24:06 +0000 Michael Black 6086 at http://wrur.org Black Lips Live from World Cafe Live 4/18 @ Noon Boy George Live from World Cafe Live 4/18 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/boy-george-live-world-cafe-live-418-noon <p>Eighties superstar Boy George isn’t done performing. Though it’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;been 18 years since his last album release in&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">1995, he's on a North American tour supporting his latest endeavor, This Is What I Do, released last January. The artist is also well-known for his work with the band Culture Club and is reportedly working on new material with them as well. Tune in Friday at noon for this double header Live From World Cafe Live.</span></p><p></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 13:19:46 +0000 Michael Black 6085 at http://wrur.org Boy George Live from World Cafe Live 4/18 @ Noon Midlake Live from World Cafe Live 4/11 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/midlake-live-world-cafe-live-411-noon <p>Join us for a special acoustic Live from World Cafe Live as 3 members of Midlake perform a live midday concert on Friday.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 18:33:28 +0000 Michael Black 5982 at http://wrur.org Midlake Live from World Cafe Live 4/11 @ Noon The Districts Live from World Cafe Live 4/04 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/districts-live-world-cafe-live-404-noon <p>Join us Friday for a Doubleheader concert with&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Districts and Hurray</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> for the Riff </span>Raff<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Friday and noon.</span></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:44:56 +0000 Michael Black 5832 at http://wrur.org The Districts Live from World Cafe Live 4/04 @ Noon Hurray For the Riff Raff Live from World Cafe Live 4/04 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/hurray-riff-raff-live-world-cafe-live-404-noon <p>Join us for a Doubleheader concert Friday with Hurray for the Riff Raff and The Districts!&nbsp;</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:21:30 +0000 Michael Black 5831 at http://wrur.org Hurray For the Riff Raff Live from World Cafe Live 4/04 @ Noon Typhoon Live from World Cafe Live 3/28 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/typhoon-live-world-cafe-live-328-noon <p>Typhoon, the 12-piece supergroup from Portland, Oregon, joins us for a live Friday concert &nbsp;at noon. Getting their big break with a performance on “Late Show with David Letterman” in 2011,</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;Typhoon has quickly grown in popularity due to their appropriate and experimentally big-band sound complete with sporadic interjections of harmonization, brass and piano. Since their initial appearance, they've opened for indie rock bands Explosions in the Sky and The Decemberists.</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 15:19:50 +0000 Michael Black 5796 at http://wrur.org Typhoon Live from World Cafe Live 3/28 @ Noon Suzy Boggus Live from World Cafe Live 3/21 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/suzy-boggus-live-world-cafe-live-321-noon <p>Country music singer and songwriter Suzy Bogguss joins us live for our noon concert on March 21st.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Illinois native released her thirteenth studio record Lucky last month, a collection of Merle Haggard's classic Americana songs </span>rerecorded<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> in a style that is quintessentially Suzy.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 15:09:14 +0000 Michael Black 5763 at http://wrur.org Suzy Boggus Live from World Cafe Live 3/21 @ Noon The War on Drugs Live from World Cafe Live 3/14 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/war-drugs-live-world-cafe-live-314-noon <p>Join us for the our Friday concert this week, Live from World Cafe Live, as War On Drugs performs.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 18:37:35 +0000 Michael Black 5629 at http://wrur.org The War on Drugs Live from World Cafe Live 3/14 @ Noon Roomful of Blues Live from World Cafe Live 3/7 @ Noon http://wrur.org/post/roomful-blues-live-world-cafe-live-37-noon <p>Swing revival stalwarts Roomful of Blues join us live for our Friday concert.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Blending traditional blues motifs with big band attitude, Roomful of Blues are five-time Grammy nominees with a discography that reaches back forty years.</p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 17:25:47 +0000 Michael Black 5628 at http://wrur.org Roomful of Blues Live from World Cafe Live 3/7 @ Noon