Jim Zarroli http://wrur.org en Citigroup Settles Subprime Mortgage Case For $7 Billion http://wrur.org/post/citigroup-settles-subprime-mortgage-case-7-billion Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Citigroup has agreed to settle allegations that it defrauded investors in the years leading up to the financial crisis. The settlement requires Citigroup to pay $7 billion. Two and a half billion will go toward mortgage relief for homeowners. Now, this settlement involves mortgage-backed securities the bank packaged and sold to investors, and it was announced this morning by U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder. We're going to talk this through with NPR's Jim Zarroli who's on the line. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 16:34:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 7190 at http://wrur.org Report Shows 288,000 New Jobs In June http://wrur.org/post/report-shows-288000-new-jobs-june Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Good morning. We begin this hour with more positive signs about the nation's economy. The Labor Department this morning said the U.S. unemployment rate fell to its lowest level in nearly six years last month, and employers added some 288,000 jobs to their payrolls. Here's NPR's Jim Zarroli.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The job growth was spread across the economy in business services, retail trade, manufacturing and even government hiring. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 7058 at http://wrur.org BNP Paribas Agrees To Nearly $9 Billion Fine And Admission Of Guilt http://wrur.org/post/bnp-paribas-agrees-9-billion-fine-and-admission-guilt Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Banking giant BNP Paribas has agreed to pay American regulators nearly $9 billion dollars to settle charges of economic sanctions violations. It's the largest such fine ever imposed by the U.S. The bank will plead guilty to two criminal charges. It was accused of helping clients in Sudan, Cuba and Iran conduct business in the United States. NPR's Jim Zarroli reports.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The charges were brought after a lengthy investigation that involved the Justice Department, the Federal Reserve and banking regulators in New York state. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:20:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 7016 at http://wrur.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms http://wrur.org/post/us-foreign-mergers-raise-calls-tax-reforms This week the big medical device company Medtronic said it was moving its legal headquarters from Minneapolis to Ireland. It's part of a $43 billion merger with another medical company, Dublin-based Covidien.<p>The move is a tax-saving strategy called an inversion and it's growing more common in the corporate world.<p>U.S. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:45:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 6893 at http://wrur.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms Lightning-Fast Trades Go Beneath The Congressional Microscope http://wrur.org/post/lightning-fast-trades-go-beneath-congressional-microscope The Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations is holding a hearing on problems in the financial markets caused by high-frequency trading firms. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 6845 at http://wrur.org Once A GOP Pillar, Chamber Of Commerce Is Now A Lightning Rod http://wrur.org/post/once-gop-pillar-chamber-commerce-now-lightning-rod The Chamber of Commerce says it tried to help Eric Cantor in his primary campaign, but Cantor refused the offer. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:44:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 6787 at http://wrur.org Political Rhetoric Bogs Down Future Of Keystone XL Pipeline http://wrur.org/post/political-rhetoric-bogs-down-future-keystone-xl-pipeline Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. Last month the Obama administration put off a decision on whether to approve the Keystone XL pipeline. The project has been enormously controversial. It would carry crude oil from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico. This morning we examine what's at stake for the oil industry and for energy production. Fri, 23 May 2014 11:07:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 6514 at http://wrur.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? http://wrur.org/post/crowdfunding-can-help-build-business-what-cost Entrepreneur Andy Krafsur raised money for Spira Footwear by reaching out to friends and family. But that was a dozen years ago. After the economy tanked, the common tactic became a lot more difficult.<p>"The pool of people that you can go to has shrunken significantly," Krafsur says, "and everybody goes to those same people."<p>Then Krafsur found a crowdfunding website that helped his cash flow enormously. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 6328 at http://wrur.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? Buffett Defends Coke Position At Berkshire Hathaway Meeting http://wrur.org/post/buffett-defends-coke-position-berkshire-hathaway-meeting Warren Buffett is under fire for not opposing Coca-Cola's executive compensation plan more aggressively. Buffett spoke about his decision at a shareholder meeting for his company Berkshire Hathaway. Mon, 05 May 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 6276 at http://wrur.org Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes http://wrur.org/post/sending-money-overseas-round-trip-avoid-taxes Some investors avoid paying taxes in a move called round-tripping — sending money offshore, then investing it in U.S. stocks or bonds. A study estimates it costs the U.S. billions in lost revenues.<p>Recently, MIT professor Michelle Hanlon and two colleagues set out to find out all they could about round-tripping.<p>"I think it's a big problem in the U.S. tax system that individuals can evade taxes and that they try to do so offshore," Hanlon says. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 6044 at http://wrur.org Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes