NPR Staff http://wrur.org en Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead? http://wrur.org/post/net-neutrality-shall-i-compare-thee-highway-showerhead <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCUg5A-ZAw0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou9S3wrHg8c</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:35:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7297 at http://wrur.org Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead? Despite California's Drought, Taps Still Flowing In LA County http://wrur.org/post/despite-californias-drought-taps-still-flowing-la-county This January, after the driest calendar year in California history, Gov. Jerry Brown declared a drought emergency. He called on residents to reduce their water intake by 20 percent.<p>But downtown Los Angeles doesn't look<em> </em>like a city devastated by the state's worst drought in decades. The city is green with landscaping, and fountains are running. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 23:00:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7278 at http://wrur.org Despite California's Drought, Taps Still Flowing In LA County Sixth-Grader's Science Fair Finding Shocks Ecologists http://wrur.org/post/sixth-graders-science-fair-finding-shocks-ecologists When 12-year-old Lauren Arrington heard about her sixth-grade science project, she knew she wanted to study lionfish. Growing up in Jupiter, Fla., she saw them in the ocean while snorkeling and fishing with her dad.<p>Her project showed that the lionfish can survive in nearly fresh water. The results blew away professional ecologists. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 21:31:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7277 at http://wrur.org Sixth-Grader's Science Fair Finding Shocks Ecologists Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It http://wrur.org/post/learning-love-ocean-after-lifetime-fearing-it Tim Bomba is a tall, rangy guy with a quick smile. He's a marathoner, a triathlete (he's done two Ironman races), and every Wednesday morning for the last decade, Bomba has taught a ocean swimming course in Santa Monica, Calif.<p>The course, called Ocean 101, isn't for accomplished swimmers like Bomba. It's for people who are new to the ocean, and many participants are afraid of the water when they arrive. Bomba knows what they're going through. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:05:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7273 at http://wrur.org Learning To Love The Ocean After A Lifetime Of Fearing It In New Film, Zach Braff Asks: How Long Can You Pursue Your Dreams? http://wrur.org/post/new-film-zach-braff-asks-how-long-can-you-pursue-your-dreams Zach Braff is currently performing on Broadway, and for a time he starred in the TV comedy <em>Scrubs</em>. But he's also known for directing and starring in the 2004 film <em>Garden State</em>, a model of 20-something angst.<p>Braff also directs and stars in his latest film, <em>Wish I Was Here</em>, which he co-wrote with his older brother, Adam. The collaboration yielded a coming-of-age story of sorts. It's about a guy who hasn't quite earned the title of adult, even though he's already a family man with kids. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:40:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7262 at http://wrur.org In New Film, Zach Braff Asks: How Long Can You Pursue Your Dreams? 'Captain Pizza' Saves The Day, But Doesn't Save Himself A Slice http://wrur.org/post/captain-pizza-saves-day-doesnt-save-himself-slice It's one of those stories that start in the middle. Midflight from Washington, D.C., to Denver on Monday, pilot Gerhard Brandner hit some bad weather that forced him to land in Wyoming. It was a mundane delay like most others. His Frontier Airlines plane was grounded on a tarmac in Cheyenne.<p>That's when the pilot made a decision that made him a national hero.<p>"I figure out, well, I'm getting hungry; I'll bet you the folks be hungry back there, too," Brandner says. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 23:12:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7156 at http://wrur.org 'Captain Pizza' Saves The Day, But Doesn't Save Himself A Slice Teen Tries To Be The Parent His Own Dad Never Was http://wrur.org/post/teen-tries-be-parent-his-own-dad-never-was <em>This story is part of </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america" target="_blank">Men in America</a>"<em> series. </em><p>Marvin Ramos found out he was going to be a father when his girlfriend, Stephanie, called him during a basketball game. He says he sat down on a bench and looked up at the sky. He was 16. Stephanie was 19.<p>When his daughter, Hailey, was born, Ramos was overwhelmed. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 21:47:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7106 at http://wrur.org Teen Tries To Be The Parent His Own Dad Never Was Programs Target Poverty In Obama's 5 'Promise Zones' http://wrur.org/post/programs-target-poverty-obamas-five-promise-zones Five areas across the country have been designated as "Promise Zones" by the federal government. Sun, 06 Jul 2014 22:51:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7088 at http://wrur.org Programs Target Poverty In Obama's 5 'Promise Zones' The Life And Death Of 'The Internet's Own Boy' http://wrur.org/post/life-and-death-internets-own-boy <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvsxnOg0bJY</p> Sun, 06 Jul 2014 21:33:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7085 at http://wrur.org The Life And Death Of 'The Internet's Own Boy' Release Of 'Echo's Bones' Resurrects Beckett's Rejected Work http://wrur.org/post/release-echos-bones-resurrects-becketts-rejected-work Playwright and author Samuel Beckett, who died 25 years ago, wrote lasting works of literature like <em>Waiting for Godot </em>and <em>Endgame. </em>But a previously unpublished short story of his — now being released for the first time — was not so appreciated.<p><em>Echo's Bones, </em>which follows a man who has just come back from the dead, was supposed to be the final story in Beckett's first-ever collection of stories. Editor Charles Prentice, who commissioned the story in 1933, described it this way: "It's a nightmare ... Sat, 05 Jul 2014 21:14:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7082 at http://wrur.org Release Of 'Echo's Bones' Resurrects Beckett's Rejected Work