Alice Fordham http://wrur.org en For Iraqis In Crisis, Dividing The Country Seems A Poor Solution http://wrur.org/post/iraqis-crisis-dividing-country-seems-poor-solution The muscular farmer sits in the basement kindergarten of the church, perched on a tiny chair intended for a child. He and his family are spending the holiday here, after being forced to flee from extremists.<p>"Our village is more than 300 years old," Ahmed Ali says of Shreikhan, near Mosul, "and we never had any such problems."<p>For most Muslims around the world, Eid is a time for gifts, feasts and visiting relatives. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 10:26:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 7409 at http://wrur.org For Iraqis In Crisis, Dividing The Country Seems A Poor Solution Amid Bloodshed, Brotherhood: Links Forged From Iraq's Game Of Rings http://wrur.org/post/amid-bloodshed-brotherhood-links-forged-iraqs-game-rings In Iraq, a Ramadan game called Mheibbis brings even Sunnis and Shiites together in peaceful competition. A ring game traditionally played between neighborhoods during the holy month, Mheibbis has offered men the opportunity to break Baghdad's tension and offer messages of unity and brotherhood — even between rival sects. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 7130 at http://wrur.org Angry At Shiite-Led Government, Sunnis Are Loath To Help Calm Iraq http://wrur.org/post/angry-shiite-led-government-sunnis-are-loath-help-calm-iraq Iraq is looking increasingly like a state partitioned along sectarian lines. Shiites control the south, but Sunni militants are sweeping through the north and west — and they're doing it with help from local Sunni populations.<p>Interviews with Sunni leaders show how hard it will be to build the kind of trust needed to put the country back together under one functioning authority.<p>In the Baghdad suburb of Dora, Sunni Sheik Abu Ali al-Jubbouri says the dangers Sunnis face are evident every night. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 21:53:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 6957 at http://wrur.org Angry At Shiite-Led Government, Sunnis Are Loath To Help Calm Iraq Iraq's Army Is Ineffective Against Islamist Insurgents http://wrur.org/post/iraqs-army-ineffective-against-islamist-insurgents There are reports of Iraqi government troops just fleeing, dropping their weapons and shedding their uniforms. The U.S. spent a lot of time and money training Iraqi forces. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 10:08:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 6795 at http://wrur.org Islamist Militants Gain Ground In Northern Iraq http://wrur.org/post/islamist-militants-gain-ground-northern-iraq Sunni Islamist militants have seized control of the Iraqi cities of Mosul and Tikrit and appear to be preparing an assault on Baghdad. Americans fought and died trying to prevent that from happening. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 6774 at http://wrur.org In Iraq, Mosul Falls To Insurgent Group http://wrur.org/post/iraq-mosul-falls-insurgent-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>There are dramatic developments in Iraq where an extremist group, that's taken over large parts of Syria, has stormed into the major Iraqi city of Mosul. Leaders there are saying that this Al Qaeda offshoot, which is called the Islamic state of Iraq and Syria, may even be pushing south in the direction of Baghdad. NPR's Alice Fordham joins us now from northern Iraq for more. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 6759 at http://wrur.org Force And Fear In The Air, As Syrian Refugees Go To Polls In Lebanon http://wrur.org/post/force-and-fear-air-syrian-refugees-go-polls-lebanon Syrian refugees in Lebanon are casting their votes ahead of Syria's presidential election next week. The election is seen as Bashar Assad's rigged bid for legitimacy — but many refugees believe that if they don't vote, they'll never be allowed back home. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 28 May 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 6577 at http://wrur.org As Refugees Stream In, Lebanon Copes With Human Flood Tide http://wrur.org/post/refugees-stream-lebanon-copes-human-flood-tide Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The United Nations has now registered more than a million refugees who have fled the war in Syria and gone to Lebanon. There are many more who have gone to other countries, but this massive flow of people creates a perilous situation for Syria's tiny next door neighbor. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 5984 at http://wrur.org Syria Peace Talks Appear Near Collapse http://wrur.org/post/sryia-peace-talks-update The Syrian peace talks in Geneva are in deep trouble. Representatives of the opposition met a delegation from Syrian President Bashar Assad's regime several times this week. But the two sides can't agree on an agenda. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Alice Fordham 5458 at http://wrur.org